Inclusive Interpretation – New Zealand

Auckland participants

Auckland participants

I was honored to be invited by INNZ to share my insights on cross cultural interpretation at a series of workshops titled Inclusive Interpretation. My fellow presenter, Joe Harawira taught us all valuable lessons, not only about Maori culture, but for me at least, about life and grace. Joe is a well known Maori storyteller and keeper of protocol whose highly esteemed international reputation speaks to his talents and insights.

We began in Auckland, North Island. Thanks to Michelle Edge for hosting us at the Auckland Zoo and to Jamie of the zoo staff. It was a special bonus to be able to see the exhibits which are rich in interpretive approaches.

Our South Island venue was truly special- Rapaki Wheke Marae near Christchurch. When I was told we were going to be hosted on a marae I had no idea of the meaning of this; I knew it was special, an honor, but did not fully understand its significance. Sarah Mankelow set up our visit and I am so grateful to her for all her hard work and kindness.
There are intangible feelings on a Maori marae which have no words to describe them. For us it set the tone, the backdrop for our understanding of the material and experience. I use this word instead of learning for the marae and our lovely hosts made the experience one of knowing, one of feeling. It was the most unique and rewarding experience I have ever had in Interpretation and I am deeply grateful.

As for our topic, well Joe and I played off each other words and actions seamlessly to share what this means. When we come from a place of respect, appreciation and understanding for those we may not know we grow, we share of ourselves at our very best. The title- Inclusive Interpretation (thank you Michelle for this) says so much- isn’t it always our goal?

I learned many lessons. What stands out the most-LISTEN, and be open to all you feel, let it guide you.

Joe Harawira Gail Richard

Joe Harawira Gail Richard

Gail and Joe confer

Gail and Joe confer

Active Listening and participation, Auckland

Active Listening and participation, Auckland

Field trip to Quail Island

Field trip to Quail Island

Interpretative signs Quail Island

Interpretative signs Quail Island

Learning about Quail Island

Learning about Quail Island

Rapiki Wheke

Rapaki Wheke

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Inclusive Interpretation – New Zealand

  1. Pingback: You had me at HELLO! | Interpretation Network New Zealand

Leave a comment